Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Ashton United 0-1 Rochdale

13 August 2012

Rochdale ran out 1-0 winners over Ashton United on Monday night in the final friendly of the summer.


Ray Putterill's strike early in the first half was enough to separate the two sides on a sunny evening at Hurst Cross.


A first team eleven lined up against the Evo Stik Northern Premier League side, while the bench was made up of youth team members.


In what was physical and hard fought encounter, Putterill fired Dale ahead on 12 minutes with a strike from distance.


The 23-year-old was in fine form for Rochdale on the night and was involved in the thick of the action throughout the night.


On 21 minutes, he sent in a great ball from the left flank but the cross was intercepted by the keeper before Craig Curran could get there.


Four minutes later and Putterill again tested the goalkeeper from distance. His effort from 30 yards out was palmed away and out for a corner kick.


Sean McConville then came close on 27 minutes as he hit a low drive across the face of goal. His effort was however deflected wide of the target.


As the half ticked towards the interval, the Dale defence were caught out by a quick Ashton throw in. Striker Ben Deegan got a well struck shot away, but ‘keeper Smith did well to get down to collect the effort.


The second half was relatively quiet compared to the first 45 minutes as Ashton made it difficult for Rochdale in the final third by defending in numbers.


With Dale struggling to find an opening in front of goal, the strike force fired shots from distance in on goal.


On 64 minutes McConville thought he had doubled Rochdale’s lead from 35 yards, but was denied by the cross bar.


A minute later and Curran sent in another long range effort, this time without troubling the goalkeeper, while Putterill rattled a shot over the bar from distance on 78 minutes.


In the final moments of the match Rochdale's Smith pulled off a fantastic save to keep the score at 0-1.   


Rochdale: Smith, Minihan, Byrne, Bennett, Rafferty, McConville, Craney, BBM, Putterill, Abadaki, Curran. Subs: Allan, Logan, Leigh, Tanser, O'Connor, Whitehall.

Advertisement block