Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Youth Team

Youth Team Report | Dale 0-4 Bolton Wanderers

2 May 2023

Youth Team

Youth Team Report | Dale 0-4 Bolton Wanderers

2 May 2023

The Youth Team’s 2022/23 season ended in defeat, losing 4-0 at home to Bolton Wanderers on Tuesday.

The visitors broke the deadlock early on from the penalty spot, after a Bolton man had been fouled as he attempted to latch on to a ball over the top.

The spot kick was converted, sending Dale stopper Lennon MacLorg the wrong way, meaning Wanderers took a ninth minute lead.

They continued to enjoy more of the ball through the first period, with MacLorg being called into action a number of times, holding on to efforts from distance before turning another shot from the edge of the area wide of his right-hand post.

Dale’s best moment came when Darren Ehimamiegho dug out a cross from the byline towards Oscar Kelly. He couldn’t quite get it under control but managed to turn goalwards, although it was comfortable for the Bolton goalkeeper.

Nail Ayub and Paul Kyffin replaced Brooklyn Bailey and Zak Greenwell at the break, after which Dale began to dominate proceedings.

Anisio Jesus saw a volley held and had a further two shots from inside the area well blocked, whilst Oscar Kelly sent a 30-yard free-kick off target.

Dale’s best chance fell to Kevin Dos Santos 15 minutes from time, when he headed a Max Sutton cross from the left on to the roof of the net when unmarked in a central position.

However, minutes later, the visitors doubled their lead, when a ball to the back post was sent into the middle of the six-yard box, where it was bundled home.

Kelly saw a well-struck effort from 20-yards turned away by an outstretched hand of the goalkeeper, before Wanderers added a third in the final ten minutes, picking up on a loose back pass and converting.

Their fourth and final goal came in the 89th minute, when a left footed shot from the edge of the area found the bottom corner.

Dale XI | MacLorg, Cunningham, Watts, Nevett ©, Sutton, Dos Santos, Bailey, Greenwell, Jesus, Kelly, Ehimamiegho.

Subs | Nicholson, Ayub, Kyffin, Yaduat, Anderson.

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match