Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

A Statement From The Board Of Directors

3 June 2021

The Board of Directors would like to issue the following statement to all supporters.

Following Tuesday’s Annual General Meetings and Extraordinary General Meetings, we would like to thank all shareholders who attended either in person or online, and those who also contributed by allowing their vote to be cast by proxy. 

The passion that everyone has for the club was demonstrated throughout the five-hour meeting and that resonated with us. We welcomed the opportunity to hold open dialogue with shareholders about how we move forward and, having listened to all that was said on the evening, we believe it was right and appropriate to withdraw the four resolutions which had been proposed for releasing new shares.

That is not to say that the club does not need investment. As a football club operating at an elite level of professional football, we cannot compete and thrive without the injection of significant amounts of money that are not currently available to us, and we will now explore alternative ways of generating new investment in order to achieve our ambitions. 

Following the outcome of the EGM called by the Dale Supporters Trust, also held on the same evening, which saw shareholders vote to remove David Bottomley and Graham Rawlinson from the Board of Directors, we are currently operating as board of three; Andrew Kelly, Tony Pockney and Nick Grindrod. 

We need time to consider the next steps carefully and reflect on Tuesday night’s outcomes. It is only then that we will be in a position to provide a further update.

We would like to take this opportunity to place on record our thanks to Mr Bottomley and Mr Rawlinson for their unwavering commitment and dedication to the football club in their roles as Directors. 

Mr Bottomley joined the board in 2015, while Mr Rawlinson has had a long association with the club, having initially served on the Board of Directors between 2006 and 2010. He returned as Associate Director in 2012 before once again becoming a Director in 2014.

Advertisement block