Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Retained/Released List 2019/20

19 June 2020

Club News

Retained/Released List 2019/20

19 June 2020

Rochdale Football Club can announce its retained/released list following the conclusion of the 2019/20 season.

All out of contract players, which include Josh Lillis, Ryan McLaughlin, MJ Williams, Calvin Andrew, Callum Camps, Aaron Wilbraham, Matty Gillam and Ian Henderson, have been released.

Options have been taken up on the contracts of Lewis Bradley, Fabio Tavares and Harrison Hopper, which will extend their stay until the summer of 2021.

Meanwhile, the Youth Team’s Joe Dunne has been offered his first professional contract.

Loan players Rhys Norrington-Davies, Tyler Smith, Robert Sánchez and Luke Matheson have all returned to their parent clubs.

Due to the current circumstances surrounding COVID-19 and the uncertainty of when we will return to playing football in front of crowds, it has been decided by the Board of Directors in conjunction with the Manager, Brian Barry-Murphy, not to offer new contracts to the above players who have been released.

The Club will also not be entering into contract negotiations with free agents until the future of the 2020/21 season is made clearer.

The Club wishes to make clear that contract negotiations had taken place with Ian Henderson during the 2019/20 season, but that an agreement could not be reached. We thank Ian for his unstinting service to Rochdale Football Club in the last seven years, which has seen him become the Club’s second highest ever goalscorer on 126 goals and he leaves us with legendary status amongst our supporters.

Callum Camps departs after over ten years of service to the Club, having been a product of our Academy. He has gone on to make over 230 professional appearances in a Dale shirt and we thank him for his commitment throughout all stages of his career with us.

We also want to thank Josh Lillis who has been with us since 2012. He leaves as the record appearance holder for a goalkeeper as well as record clean sheet holder.

Calvin Andrew has also been an incredible servant to the Club both on and off the pitch. He has been an important part in our success on it, but his work in the community around Rochdale has been second-to-none and he was recently named as the PFA’s League One Community Player of the Year.

Our thanks also go to Ryan McLaughlin, MJ Williams, Aaron Wilbraham and Matty Gillam, who have all played their part in Rochdale Football Club surviving in the third tier of English football for what will be a seventh consecutive season.

We would like to place on record our huge thanks to all of those who are leaving the Club for their contribution to the Dale cause during their time at the Crown Oil Arena and wish them all the best for the future.

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match