Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Mitre Goal Of The Year

14 January 2014

We want you to help us decide which was our best goal of 2013!

The Football League have launched the search to find the Mitre Goal of the Year for 2013 and we are asking for your help in deciding which of our goals from the last 12 months should be put forward as our nomination.

We can nominate one goal from any Football League competition in the 2013 calendar year, to include goals scored in the Sky Bet Football League, the Capital One Cup and the Johnstone’s Paint Trophy.

We want you to help us decide our club nomination by tweeting us, Facebooking us or emailing us with your choice from these goals, which have already been voted as Goal of the Month by you, with the exception of the December goals which have yet to be decided.

Tweet us (@officiallydale) by using the #RAFCGoal2013, or email, or via Facebook (OfficiallyRochdale).

You can view the goals on our official YouTube channel by clicking HERE.

The goals are:
1. Ashley Grimes v Rotherham, January 2013
2. Bobby Grant v Chesterfield, February 2013 
3. George Donnelly v Gillingham, March 2013
4. Bobby Grant v Southend United, April 2013
5. Scott Hogan v Hartlepool United, August 2013
6. Michael Rose v Wycombe Wanderers, September 2013
7. Ian Henderson v Cheltenham Town, October 2013
8. Michael Rose v Exeter City, November 2013
9. Jamie Allen v Southend United, December 2013
10. Graham Cummins, Bristol Rovers, December 2013

You can view the goals on our official YouTube channel by clicking HERE.

Closing date for entries is noon on Sunday 19th January.

Our nominated goal will then be entered in the Mitre Goal of the Year category at the Football League Awards 2014.  A judging panel will then review the goals with the top 10 being shown on Sky Sports’ Soccer AM on 9th February.  Fans will be given the opportunity to vote for goals to make the final shortlist of five, with the overall winner being decided at the glittering Awards ceremony at The Brewery, London on Sunday 16th March 2014.

Past winners of the Mitre Goal of the Year have been Simon Cox (Nottingham Forest – 2012), Peter Whittingham (Cardiff City – 2011), Dean Furman (Oldham Athletic - 2010), Nicky Maynard (Bristol City – 2009), Sylvain-Ebanks Blake (Wolverhampton Wanderers – 2008), Jermaine Beckford (Leeds United – 2007), Joe Ledley (Cardiff City – 2006) and Stefan Oakes (Notts County – 2005).

To find out more about The Football League Awards please visit

Advertisement block