Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


11 October 2012

Jason Kennedy is up for Northwest footballer of the year

Midfielder Jason Kennedy has been named amongst the nominees for the League One Player of the Year at the forthcoming Northwest Football Awards.

A virtual ever-present last term, Kennedy faces competition from Bury’s David Worrall, Kieren Lee (formerly of Oldham Athletic), Preston North End goalkeeper Thorsten Stuckmann, former Tranmere Rovers man David Buchanan and Lee Miller of Carlisle United.

After a year when clubs from the north west have dominated the headlines, with both Manchester clubs battling it out for the 2011/12 Premier League title in one of the most dramatic seasons in living memory, the judges on the panel for the 2012 Northwest Football Awards have completed the difficult task of shortlisting the region’s Player of the Year nominations for the top five divisions. 

Supporters can now cast their vote to back their heroes and help decide which players will receive the various accolades. Visit to cast your vote, or cast your decision via Facebook ( and Twitter (@NWFAwards).

All supporters who vote for their chosen Player of the Year will also be entered into a free prize draw to win a pair of tickets for the Northwest Football Awards ceremony.

Consisting of professionals across all aspects of the game, including PFA Chairman Gordon Taylor OBE, Editor of FC Business Ryan McKnight and former FA Chief Executive Mark Palios, the panel have announced the finalists that will be competing for various honours at the awards ceremony, which takes place on Monday 12 November at Lancashire County Cricket Club’s ‘The Point’ and will be presented by BBC Sport’s Dan Walker.

The awards also celebrate achievements across all areas of professional clubs – from the Premier League to the Blue Square Premier Division, including the best community initiatives, marketing campaigns and sponsorship engagement. 

Special categories on the night will also recognise the Northwest Football Journalist of the Year, Manager of the Year, Goal of the Year, as well as a Lifetime Contribution to Northwest Football and an Unsung Hero Award.

The full shortlists for the divisional Player of the Year awards are as follows:

Premier League Player of the Year
Yakubu Aiyegbeni – Blackburn Rovers (now at Guangzhou R&F FC)
Ádám Bogdán – Bolton Wanderers
John Heitinga – Everton
Martin Škrtel – Liverpool
Vincent Kompany – Manchester City
Antonio Valencia – Manchester United
Gary Caldwell – Wigan Athletic

Championship Player of the Year
Alex Baptise – Blackpool
Jay Rodriguez – Burnley (now at Southampton) 

League One Player of the Year
David Worrall - Bury
Lee Miller – Carlisle United
Kieren Lee – Oldham Athletic (now at Sheffield Wednesday) 
Thorsten Stuckmann – Preston North End
Jason Kennedy – Rochdale
David Buchanan – Tranmere Rovers (now at Preston North End)

League Two Player of the Year
Pádraig Amond – Accrington Stanley
Nick Powell – Crewe Alexandra (now Manchester United)
Chris McCready– Morecambe
José Veiga – Macclesfield Town (now with Harrogate Town) 

Non-League Player of the Year
Damian Reeves - Altrincham
Joe Connor – Stockport County
Tom Hannigan – Vauxhall Motors FC

Advertisement block