Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

JK On His Award Nomination

12 October 2012

JK: “It is a great personal achievement and I’m delighted to have received the nomination."

Midfielder Jason Kennedy yesterday received the news that he has been named amongst the nominees for the League One Player of the Year for the 2011/12 season at the forthcoming Northwest Football Awards.

Kennedy faces competition from Bury’s David Worrall, Kieren Lee (formerly of Oldham Athletic), Preston North End goalkeeper Thorsten Stuckmann, former Tranmere Rovers man David Buchanan and Lee Miller of Carlisle United.

The 26-year-old is delighted to be in the running for the award: “It is a great personal achievement and I’m delighted to have received the nomination to be on the short-list along with five others for this award,” said Kennedy.

“For this particular award it is the first time that I have been nominated so it is nice to get the personal accolade as well as recognition for the team.

“It was a difficult season last season getting relegated but I found it within myself to keep going, keep on top of my game and do the best for the team in a difficult situation.”

Young defender Sam Minihan joins Kennedy in being named amongst the nominees. The 18-year-old is listed alongside a host of names including Liverpool’s Martin Kelly and Blackpool’s Tom Ince for the Rising Star Award.

Kennedy is delighted to see his fellow team-mate on the short-list: “Sam came in and played well last season. He was brilliant, he is a great talent, a great prospect for the future and he’s up against some stiff competition from what I’ve seen on the list.”

Supporters now have the task of deciding which players will receive the various accolades. 

To cast your vote for Jason and Sam please visit You can also vote via Facebook ( and Twitter (@NWFAwards).

All supporters who vote for their chosen Player of the Year will also be entered into a free prize draw to win a pair of tickets for the Northwest Football Awards ceremony.

The awards ceremony, which takes place on Monday 12 November at Lancashire County Cricket Club’s ‘The Point’ and will be presented by BBC Sport’s Dan Walker.

Advertisement block